Chipotles in adobo sauce is an ingredient we sometimes use in our Mexican cooking. (For example, it’s called for in the recipe for Chipotle Chicken Fajitas on page 146 of our cookbook, Artisanal Gluten-Free Cooking.) While the preparation can vary from country to country, in essence, it is chipotle chiles (smoked jalapeno peppers) stewed in a sauce made with tomatoes, garlic, vinegar, salt and a blend of spices.
In recent weeks, I’ve received a handful of emails from readers who were startled to find wheat flour listed on the ingredients of their chipotles in adobo sauce. Some preparations – especially Mexican – can include wheat flour in the recipe. It’s a good reminder that, as with any prepared food product you buy in the supermarket, always read the ingredients list to confirm that the brand you’re buying is indeed gluten-free.
That said, there are a number of widely available brands (and a few more obscure ones) of chipotles in adobo sauce that are gluten-free:
La Costena (We use this regularly in our cooking. It’s sold in the United States as “chipotle peppers in adobo sauce” under the La Costena brand.)
* Of course, remember the rule of thumb above, and check the ingredients label, even if you’re buying one of these “gluten-free” brands!
The bottom line, though, is that with the right awareness, and the right can of chipotles in adobo sauce, this ingredient can be a tasty and reliably gluten-free member of your cooking arsenal. (Or, you could always make your own chipotles in adobo sauce, but that’s for another blog post…)